True Life: My Teammate was Catfished

Sorry that this post has taken so long, but REAL life needed some attention.  Since my last post, there have been some interesting updates.  When my post circulated around twitter, I had two old teammates contact me about how they had been contacted by the one and only Hope Porter.  One was around the same time that I was contacted, and the other was about a year later.  Like me, they were confused about how she could have gotten their number, and even more perplexing is the motivation behind the contact.  What do these “catfishers” get out of it? Are they psychotic? Probably.  Depressed? Maybe.  I will never understand the desire to have a phone relationship, much less with numerous people.  I have a hard enough time keeping in touch with family and friends!  Nevertheless, I think you will find this next story just as interesting.

True Life: My Teammate was Catfished

Because I was not the victim in this story, I don’t know all the details, but I do have the generalities.  A female, let’s call her Sarah, sent me a friend request on Facebook.  She was an attractive girl who had some ‘Mutual Friends.’  She also had sent a friend request to some of my other teammates.  In fact, she had become friends with all of my teammates at the time (always a red flag, whether real or fake haha).  Nothing came of the friend request on my end, but my teammate, let’s call him Cornelius (I just like that name) had pursued it a bit.  Cornelius would say he was talking to this smoking hot girl Sarah who was pretty cool.  None of us had ever met Sarah but ‘knew’ her from Facebook.  From my understanding, he would try to meet up with her, but she would always end up bailing on him for some reason.  The Facebook wall posts and tweets began.  Cornelius began saying stuff like “I miss my @sarahIsAfakeHOTTIE” or “Looking forward to hangin’ with @sarahIsAfakeHOTTIE.”  That’s when the guys and I began looking at each other and asking what the hell was going on.  I mean, we ‘knew’ this chick from Facebook/Twitter, but no one had met her or seen her.  She had some of the other guys’ numbers and would text them when they were out.  She would send stuff like “Hey come to ‘This Fake Bar!!!’”  One of them would show up and text her, and she would respond and say, “Oh, I just left there. Sorry, come to ‘This Really Fake Pub.’” Something weird was obviously going on, yet Cornelius couldn’t see it.  Nor would he listen.

Eventually, Sarah sent a Facebook message to one of Cornelius’s close buds, let’s call him Abraham.  She spilled her guts.  She told Abraham that she had been involved in an internet relationship with Cornelius. She was not Sarah – a smoking hot 20something year old with brown hair and a tanned body – but instead a 46 year old married woman with no job.  She came clean because her husband had caught her in all her internet dealings.  He told her to stop it or he would leave.  She had recently told Cornelius she wasn’t real and felt that he had taken it very hard.  She wanted to make sure he would be ok, which was her main reason for contacting Abraham.  Looking for positives in this situation, thank goodness the real person behind the fake girl actually had somewhat of a heart to be concerned about Cornelius.  In fact, Cornelius had taken it pretty hard.  Most guys are pretty protective of their emotions, and if they give a girl some tweet/facebook space, then it is pretty serious!  Almost too serious in my opinion!

I am sure plenty of (male) athletes know many stories like this.  We are easy targets (and we all know why…).  It isn’t uncommon for girls to approach us, real or fake.  Hell, AJ McCarron and his hottie Katherine Webb met on twitter!  That is the world we are in right now.  Look at it from a media perspective.  There are tons of internet dating sites designed for people to meet online.  There are even more movies in which a relationship is struck up online.  Look at the movie ‘You’ve Got Mail,’ which was put out in 1998.  My generation has been brought up on the internet.  We grew up on AOL Instant Messenger, email, and text messaging.  This hasn’t just changed the way we interact with individuals; it has changed the way we date.  In my age group, dates are a thing of the past.  You hang out as a group.  You ask the girl to come over, and she hangs out with you around your friends or vice versa.  Maybe, and this is a big maybe, if you are seriously interested, will you then ask for a date.

Sorry, went off on a tangent.  The big question then is how do you protect yourself?  Well for me, I am very guarded now on who I accept as friends on Facebook.  Heck, I am guarded about who I let in for REAL LIFE friends, and I’m not even anybody special.  I am also somewhat wary about who I respond to on Twitter.  Just be careful.  Use logic.  Use the brain God blessed you with, and think!  Go meet hot girls while you are doing community service (schools usually have some good looking teachers, and hospitals have hot nurses), going to church (hard to go wrong here), studying (classmates and tutors) and hanging out with your friends.

Oh, and click the ‘Not Now’ button if she is Facebook friends with the entire baseball team, football team, and soccer team!

11 thoughts on “True Life: My Teammate was Catfished

  1. Pingback: Fieldhouse Media » Manti Te’o, Social Media and Student-Athletes. What now?

  2. Pingback: Gone Catfishing « Irrelephant Journalism

  3. I agree that Facebook and texting and Twitter have so changed dating for your generation. My son’s high school girlfriend went to his college and when they broke up he was so frustrated because it then seemed as if every girl he met some how knew her and wouldn’t even give him a chance- too serious too soon. Guys and girls need the opportunity to date or hang out with a lot of different people but it seems like your generation gets too involved too quickly and then hard to back out of things. And you are a really good writer!

  4. Hi Michael,   Thanks for taking the time to share your insight on this issue. You’re a good writer (I’m a writer too and know how tough it is to commit to publishing something) and your posting helps me understand young folks a little better.  My son is Steve Nash from Riverside High and so of course our family has followed your career.   I do hope you keep blogging and sharing your thoughts.  In a lot of ways you and Steve are alike so it is great to hear advice from you.  He is getting his Masters Degree in Accounting at Clemson at The Falls (downtown Greenville).  He studied abroad like you did too. He was in Vienna about the same time you were studying in Europe as I recall.  We Riverside parents are proud of both of you guys for everything you have achieved.  You’re going to be a great professional pitcher.  I was always fascinated by how you could alternate throwing over the shoulder or sidearm.  Amazing!  You’ve got a lot of folks pulling for you back here in the upstate, rest assured.  All the Best,   Daryl Nash 441 River Way Drive Greer, SC 29651 

     

    ________________________________

  5. I am always cautious with FB. I am happy to get to know anyone on Twitter or online, even my FB fan page. However, my personal page is off limits unless I know you. I know not all people do that as many have thousands of fans. So kudos to you Michael for being cautious. It’s sad that people have to do this type of stuff.

    And while this is a bit of a tangent, I don’t really understand people who kill others and then kill themselves. What’s the point of that? I guess you just can’t understand crazy people.

  6. I guess I’m an idiot because I would have no idea how to get phone numbers for total strangers. I hope you and your teammates avoid the pitfalls of fame and groupies. FYI, when I was in college, we always hung out in a group. Safety in numbers.

  7. I do not believe this fishtail only happens to athletes. Regarding FB, I know it isn’t ‘in style’, BUT friends are your real friends. The ones that you can count on in life. OR have 2 pages one with ur gazillion ‘friends’ and another page with ur true friends. I am sorry someone hurt you.

  8. So that is why you didn’t respond when I asked you if you would speak to my daughters gymnastic team….I promise I want stalk you, I just admire you as a role model to young people.

Leave a Reply

